2018 North Carolina Wage and Hour Peel 'N Post

2020 North Carolina Wage and Hour Peel ‘N Post™


All North Carolina employers are required to post the current Wage and Hour Notice to Employees to inform employees of the laws that relate to the employment of adults, youths, the regulation of  hours and working conditions, employee classification, and protections under state labor laws.

SKU: 91009

The law requires additional posters for your industry

Pick your industry to be in complete compliance with all state and federal labor laws for your state and industry.

What’s new for North Carolina in 2020?

The 2020 North Carolina Wage and Hour Peel ‘N Post includes revised text pertaining to two topics:

  • Overtime – The N.C. Department of Labor (NCDOL) requires the posted Wage and Hour notice to specifically state that “Time and one-half must be paid to all employees after 40 hours of work in any one workweek with some exceptions. State overtime provisions specifically do not apply to certain types of employees and do not apply to employees classified as exempt under the FLSA. Exemptions may be found in NCGS § 95-25.14.”
  • Retaliatory Employment Discrimination – The revised text clarifies that the Retaliatory Employment Discrimination Act (REDA) prohibits an employer from retaliating against an employee for engaging in REDA-protected activities, such as filing a claim or initiating an inquiry, related to certain rights under the listed statutes. Drug Paraphernalia Complaints has been added to this list. The text explains that employees who believe they have been retaliated against in their employment because of activities under the listed statutes may call the NCDOL at the number provided. The text also clarifies that a REDA complaint must be filed with the Retaliatory Employment Discrimination Bureau within 180 days of the date of retaliation.
  • Another addition to the Wage and Hour notice is new a podcast icon. The “Inside NC Labor” podcast is a tool employers and employees can use to stay on top of events and developments in the NCDOL and the application of state labor laws.

Who must post the 2020 North Carolina Wage and Hour Peel ‘N Post?

All North Carolina employers with five or more employees are required to post in a conspicuous place where notices to employees are customarily posted, the current North Carolina Wage and Hour Notice to Employees.

North Carolina employers can comply with the mandatory posting update using the 2020 North Carolina Wage and Hour Peel ‘N Post to update existing North Carolina All-On-One™ Labor Law Posters or North Carolina Mobile Poster Paks™.