Who Must Post the Ohio 2021 Minimum Wage Peel ‘N Post™?
Every Ohio employer is required to post the official Ohio 2021 Minimum Wage notice which which has been updated to reflect the 2021 minimum wage rate and summarizes statutory and regulatory wage standards, including information on overtime, recordkeeping, the sub-minimum wage rate, and individuals who are exempt from the minimum wage. The notice must be posted in a conspicuous and accessible place in or about the premises wherein any person subject thereto is employed. (ORC § 4111.09). Employers with an existing Ohio All-On-One™ Labor Law Poster can comply with the mandatory posting requirement using the Ohio 2021 Minimum Wage Peel ‘N Post sticker for the All-On-One Poster. Also, keep remote employees informed using the Peel ‘N Post sticker update for employees who have an existing New Mexico Mobile Poster Pak.
- New minimum wage rates go into effect on January 1, 2021. The 2021 minimum wage rate is $8.80 per hour. The minimum wage rate for tipped employees is $4.40 per hour. If a tipped employee does not earn enough in tips together with the tipped employee minimum wage rate to equal the general minimum wage rate, the employer must make up the difference.
- Employers who gross less than $323,000 are required to pay their employees at least the federal minimum wage rate, currently $7.25 per hour.
An employer who violates the posting requirement is guilty of a misdemeanor of the fourth degree. (ORC § 4111.13(D); § 4111.99). In Ohio, misdemeanors of the fourth degree are punishable by a maximum jail sentence of 30 days and a fine not to exceed $250.