Under the new Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) Law, most employees in Massachusetts will be eligible to get up to 12 weeks of paid family leave and up to 20 weeks of paid medical leave. The program will be funded by premiums paid by employees, employers, and the self-employed. Contributions to the program will begin on October 1, 2019, and will be managed through the Department of Family and Medical Leave.
Starting January 1, 2021, family leave can be taken to:
- care for a family member with a serious health condition
- bond with a child during the first 12 months after its birth
- bond with a child during the first 12 months after adoption or foster care placement
- manage family affairs when a family member is on active duty in the armed forces
Starting July 1, 2021, medical leave can be taken:
- while an employee is unable to work due to their own serious health condition
Massachusetts employers are required to notify employees and covered individuals of the PFML in two ways. Employers must:
- post the PFML posting in the workplace; and
- provide a written notice to employees and independent contractors by September 30, 2019.
These written notices can be accessed from our Free Labor Law Compliance Postings webpage.
All Massachusetts employers are required to display the PFML posting in a location where it can be easily read by employees. (M.G.L. c. 175M, Sec. 4(a))