North Carolina 2021 Workers’ Compensation Notice Peel ‘N Post – What’s new?
The North Carolina 2021 Workers’ Compensation Notice to Injured Workers and Employees (Form 17) was recently updated as a result of rulemaking activity by the North Carolina Industrial Commission (NCIC) Rules Review Commission.
The Commission amended Rule 11 NCAC 23A.0104, which requires an employer to file a Form 19 Report of Injury within 5 days with the NCIC if the injury to an employee causes the employee to be absent from work for more than one day or medical costs exceed a prescribed amount.
The amended Rule increases the amount of medical costs that must be exceeded to require the employer to file Form 19 based on medical costs. Effective December 1, 2020, medical costs must exceed $4,000.00 to trigger the reporting requirement. This increase is reflected on the updated Form 17 workplace posting.
Who needs to post the updated North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Notice?
North Carolina law requires every employer who is subject to the provisions of the Workers’ Compensation Act to post Form 17 in a conspicuous place in places of employment, informing employees that the employer is subject to the North Carolina Workers’ Compensation Act and providing certain information about the employer’s workers’ compensation insurance policy. (N.C. Gen. Stat. § 97-93; 11 NCAC 23A.0201)
Employers can comply with the notice requirement by:
- using the Workers’ Compensation Notice Peel ‘N Post to update North Carolina All-On-One™ Posters dated 07/2020; or
- using the Workers’ Compensation Notice Peel ‘N Post to update an existing North Carolina Mobile Poster Pak,™ used for employees who perform their work remotely; or
- purchasing the 2021 North Carolina All-On-One Poster or the 2021 North Carolina MPP, both of which include all changes since the last major change (7/2020).