Who must post the Vermont 2019 Minimum Wage Peel ‘N Post™?
Vermont’s Minimum Wage Law applies to employers employing two employees. (21 V.S.A. §382). Employers covered by the Minimum Wage Law are required to post in a conspicuous place in the area where employees are employed the annual Vermont Minimum Wage Notice. (21 V.S.A. §393). Employers who fail to post the effective Minimum Wage Notice are subject to a $100 penalty.
The Vermont 2019 Minimum Wage Peel ‘N Post™ sticker reflects the official Vermont 2019 General Minimum Wage notice. The Peel ‘N Post™ sticker ensures that employers who have an existing Vermont All-On-One Poster™ or who distribute the Vermont Mobile Poster Pak™ are in compliance with notice and posting responsibilities simply by applying the Peel ‘N Post™ sticker over the outdated minimum wage notice. A full Vermont All-On-One replacement poster is not necessary when you update with the Peel ‘N Post sticker.
Vermont employers are accustomed to an increase in the minimum wage rate every year ensuring that minimum wages keep up with the rising cost of living. Until now, Vermont’s minimum wage rate increased incrementally every year by a specified amount. This January, Vermont will follow a different formula for determining the annual minimum wage rate.
Beginning January 1, 2019, and each year thereafter, Vermont’s minimum wage rage for the upcoming year will be increased by 5 percent or the percentage increase of the Consumer Price Index over the preceding 12 months, whichever is smaller. (21 V.S.A. §384). The basic wage rate for tipped employees is one-half the minimum wage rate.
The reformatted 2019 Vermont Minimum Wage Notice reflects the adjusted minimum wage rate for 2019.
- Beginning January 1, 2019, the minimum wage rate is $10.78 per hour.
- The 2019 tipped employee basic wage rate is $5.39 per hour.
Wage rates for previous years have been removed from the updated Minimum Wage Notice.