Cook County Minimum Wage & Earned Sick Leave Poster Description
All businesses that have a business facility in Cook County, Illinois or a business license issued by Cook County with employees covered by the County’s Minimum Wage Ordinance or the County’s Earned Sick Leave Ordinance must post the Cook County Minimum Wage & Earned Sick Leave Poster at the business facility. Individuals and entities covered by the law and major features of the poster include:
The Cook County Minimum Wage Ordinance applies to employers with four or more employees. The Ordinance covers employees who work in Cook County at least two hours per week. The Minimum Wage Ordinance also applies to employers of domestic workers.
The Cook County Minimum Wage rate is based on the greatest rate among the Federal minimum wage, Illinois State minimum wage, or on the County’s calculation using the Consumer Price Index (CPI). The County’s minimum wage calculation may not be used when the unemployment rate in Cook County is 8.5% or greater. Because last year’s unemployment rate was equal to or greater than 8.5%. the July 1, 2021 minimum wage rate will remain at $13.00 per hour. The tipped rate will increase to $6.60 per hour in alignment with the State minimum wage rate.
Earned Sick Leave
The Earned Sick Leave Ordinance applies to employers with at least one covered employee and a business facility in the County. The Ordinance covers employees who work in Cook County at least two hours per week. The Earned Sick Leave posting informs employees that they may accrue one hour of earned sick leave for every 40 hours worked. Employees may use earned sick leave when they or a family member are ill, receiving medical care, or are the victim of domestic violence or stalking, or when a public health emergency closes work, school or daycare. Additional leave rights may be available under the FMLA.
Notice & Posting
Employers with employees who work at a place of business within the geographic boundaries of Cook County must post in a conspicuous place at each facility where a covered employee works the Cook County Minimum Wage & Earned Sick Leave Poster. Also, employers must provide each employee at the time of hire with written notice of their rights under the Minimum Wage and Earned Sick Leave ordinances.
Employers are prohibited from retaliating against employees for exercising their rights. Employees who have not been paid required wages, not provided earned sick leave, or who have been discriminated against in violation of their rights, may file a complaint with the County or file a private action in court. The poster provides information about filing complaint with the County, time limits to file complaints and additional resources that are available to employees and employers.