The Tennessee No Smoking Poster informs patrons that there is no smoking in the posted area. It displays the international no smoking sign – an icon of a burning cigarette behind a red “no” circle – and provides information on fines that will be levied for violations of the law.
The Tennessee Non-Smokers Protection Act prohibits smoking in most enclosed public places, including work areas of public and private employers.
Age-restricted venues such as 21+ bars and restaurants or 18+ tobacco retail stores are exempt. An enclosed workplace with 3 or fewer employees may allow a private enclosed smoking area as long as smoke is prevented from entering non-smoking areas.
Employers and business owners are required by law to post the Tennessee No Smoking Poster at every entrance to every public place and place of employment where smoking is prohibited. (T.C.A. §39-17-1805)
This law is enforced by both the Tennessee Department of Health and the Tennessee Department of Labor and Workforce Development. A person who owns, manages, operates, or otherwise controls any public place where smoking is prohibited and knowingly fails to comply with any provision of the law shall be subject to:
- a written warning for a first violation,
- a civil penalty of up to $100 for a second violation in any 12-month period, and
- a civil penalty of up to $500 for a third or subsequent violation in any 12-month period.
Each day on which a knowing violation occurs shall be considered a separate and distinct violation.