City of El Cerrito California Minimum Wage Poster Description
- The official El Cerrito California Minimum Wage Poster informs employees of the current minimum wage rate and their rights under the City’s Minimum Wage Law (El Cerrito Muni. Code, Ch. 6.95). The minimum wage rate incrementally increases each year until January 1, 2020, and each January 1 thereafter, when the minimum wage rate will increase each year based on increases in the Consumer Price Index.
- The minimum wage requirements apply to any employee (part-time or full-time) who works at least two (2) hours per week within the geographic boundaries of the City of El Cerrito.
- Tips may not be counted toward payment of the minimum wage.
- The El Cerrito California Minimum Wage Poster also covers the City’s Paid Sick Leave Law and the Service Charge Law. Under the Paid Sick Leave Law employees accrue one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Employees of employers with fewer than ten employees may have saved up to 40 hours of accrued paid sick leave at a time. Employees of employers may have saved to up to 72 hours of accrued paid sick leave at a time. Accrued paid sick leave carries over from year to year. Sick leave may be used for the employee’s own medical care or to care for a family member.
- The Service Charge Law requires hospitality employers who collect service charges pay the entirety of the entire service charge to the employees providing the service to the customer.
- Under the Ordinance, employees who assert their rights to receive the City’s minimum wage are protected from retaliation.
- Employees may report violations of the law to the City. The City may fine employers who violate the law. The fine for failure to post the Minimum Wage Bulletin is $500.
- Employees have the right to file civil claims against their employers for violations of the law.
Notice & Recordkeeping
- Employers must post the official El Cerrito Wage Bulletin at each work site in a conspicuous place. The Bulletin must be posted in any language spoken by at least 10% or more of the workforce at a work site.
- At the time of hire, employers must provide each employee with a written copy of the employer’s name, address and telephone number.
- Employers must document all hours worked by employees and keep records for at least three (3) years. Records should include employee’s name, hours worked, pay rate, and service charge collected and distributed.