The Michigan Workers’ Compensation Poster includes the Michigan Workers’ Disability Compensation Rights & Responsibilities and the Employees – Know Your Rights notices.
The Michigan Workers’ Disability Compensation Rights & Responsibilities notice summarizes employees and employers’ rights and responsibilities under the Workers’ Disability Compensation Act. Under the law, employees must promptly report their injury to their employer and cooperate with reasonable rehabilitation efforts directed toward assisting them in returning to appropriate competitive employment. Employees must submit to reasonable periodic medical examinations if required by the employers or the insurance carriers, and accept valid offers of employment. Employers, on the other hand, must stay in touch with their employees while they are off work, and look for appropriate light-duty work options and accommodations when possible.
The Employees – Know Your Rights notice informs injured employees that they are entitled to certain benefits to make up for the loss of wages, the cost of medical treatment and vocational rehabilitation services. A fill-in section is included on the notice for employers to complete. This section includes the name of the employer, the employer’s contact person and telephone number, and the workers’ compensation insurance carrier name. The notice also includes contact information for Michigan’s Workers’ Compensation Agency.
The Michigan Workers’ Compensation Poster is not a required posting. Employers can display this poster in the workplace to inform workers of their rights under state law. The law applies to the following employers:
- all private employers regularly employing one or more employees 35 hours or more per week for 13 weeks or longer during the preceding 52 weeks;
- all private employers regularly employing three or more employees at one time;
- agricultural employers if they employ three or more employees 35 hours or more per week for 13 or more consecutive weeks;
- householders employing domestic servants if they employ anyone 35 hours or more per week for 13 weeks or longer during the preceding 52 weeks; and
- all public employers.