The Oregon No Smoking Poster informs employees and patrons that there is no smoking or vaping within 10 feet of the posted premises. The poster includes a crossed red “no” symbol over images of a burning cigarette and vaporizer, and provides information on the law as well as contact information to file a complaint or get help to quit smoking.
Oregon’s Indoor Clean Air Act prohibits smoking in enclosed public places and workplaces, as well as within 10 feet of building entrances, exits, windows, and air intake vents. “Smoking” includes the use of an e-cigarette or other inhalant delivery system.
Certified smoke shops, certified cigar bars, and some specified hotel rooms are exempt.
Every employer or entity in charge of a place where smoking is prohibited must prominently display the Oregon No Smoking Poster at each entrance and exit to the place of employment or public place. The posters must be placed at a height and location easily seen by the person entering the establishment, and must not be obscured in any way. (O.A.R. 333-015-0040)
Failure to comply is a Class A violation and may result in a civil penalty not to exceed $500 per day for each violation. Fines may not exceed $4,000 in any 30-day period.
Note: Some cities and counties in Oregon have stricter requirements. In these jurisdictions, any standard or requirement stricter than the state law applies.