Effective January 1, 2015, state of Washington will have the country’s highest state minimum wage rate at $9.47 per hour. Washington is one of several states that annually adjust the minimum wage rate based on changes in the Consumer Price Index (CPI). Since last year the CPI has increased 1.59 percent leading to state minimum wage increases across the county. Oregon’s 2015 minimum wage rate of $9.25 per hour is the second highest state minimum wage rate in the nation.
Washington employers are advised that the minimum wage change applies to all industries, including agriculture. Also, Washington is one of seven states that do not allow a lower minimum wage for tipped workers. Wait staff, bartenders, hair stylists and other service workers must be paid a base hourly rate of at least $9.47, regardless of how much they make in tips.
Washington does not require employers to post notice of the minimum wage rate. Instead, employers must post the 06-2013 notice, “Your Rights as a Worker,” which covers minimum wage, overtime, meal and rest breaks, pay periods, deductions, and teen workers. Businesses with current CPC Washington All-On-One™ Labor Law posters are in posting compliance.