On January 1, 2019, 20 states, including the state of Arkansas, are set to increase the minimum wage. Employers are required to pay employees at least the new minimum wage rate and post a notice in the workplace to inform employees of their right to receive the minimum wage. The Arkansas Department of Labor has released the 2019 Arkansas Minimum Wage notice with plenty of time to spare for employers to comply by the new year.
What do employers need to know about the 2019 Arkansas minimum wage?
On November 6, 2018, Arkansas voters passed a ballot initiative to raise the state minimum wage. Starting in 2019, the minimum wage will undergo a series of scheduled increases until it reaches $11.00 in 2021. This is the second voter-approved minimum wage increase in less than half a decade. The first, which passed in 2014, raised the state minimum from a starting point of $7.25 (the federal minimum wage rate) to eventually reach $8.50 in 2017.
The Arkansas Department of Labor has updated the Arkansas Minimum Wage Notice (a.k.a. “Notice to Employer and Employee”) with information effective as of January 1, 2019. This mandatory workplace notice provides information on state wage and hour laws, including the minimum wage, as well as the Equal Pay Act, child labor standards, and the Wage Collection Act.
- $9.25 an hour effective January 1, 2019 with an allowance for gratuities not to exceed $6.62 per hour.
- $10.00 an hour effective January 1, 2020 with an allowance for gratuities not to exceed $7.37 per hour.
- $11.00 an hour effective January 1, 2021 with an allowance for gratuities not to exceed $8.37 per hour.
At the bottom of the notice, the previous revision date of 2/26/2015 has been removed and the words “Effective January 1, 2019” have been added. On the CPC version of the 2019 Arkansas Minimum Wage notice, a reference to the code section which informs employers of the requirement to post the notice in the workplace has been added to the bottom of the notice.
The 2019 Arkansas Minimum Wage notice is a mandatory posting for employers with four or more employees. It must be displayed in a conspicuous and accessible place in or about the premises wherein any person subject to the minimum wage law is employed (Arkansas Code §11-4-216).
Get the 2019 Arkansas minimum wage notice now!
If you already own one of Compliance Poster Company’s signature products, you can update your mandatory Arkansas Minimum Wage notice (a.k.a. the Arkansas Department of Labor Notice to Employer and Employee) with the 2019 Arkansas Minimum Wage Notice Peel ‘N Post™ sticker for only $9.95.
The cost-effective alternative to poster subscription services, Peel ‘N Post update stickers are quick and easy to use – simply peel off the backing and post the sticker over the outdated notice on your All-On-One Poster or Mobile Poster Pak.
If you’re looking for a complete compliance solution, order a fully up-to-date 2019 Arkansas All-On-One™ Labor Law Poster, consolidating all state and federal required postings onto one convenient and attractive wall poster, or an Arkansas Mobile Poster Pak™ booklet for mobile and off-site workers or your HR reference desk. Arkansas products are available in English.
January 2019 minimum wage products begin shipping on December 3.
KEEP IN TOUCH WITH CPC!
To keep up with the latest in labor law news and posting compliance, follow us on Facebook, LinkedIn, or Twitter or subscribe to this blog! You can also contact us by phone, email, or chat to order one of CPC’s signature labor law compliance products or learn more about your company’s individualized posting obligations.
Please keep in mind that CPC cannot provide legal advice. If you have a question about how labor law applies to your specific workplace situation, please consult your local labor department or an employment lawyer.