On January 1, 2019, 20 states, including the state of Maine, are set to increase the minimum wage. Employers are required to pay employees at least the new minimum wage rate and post a notice in the workplace to inform employees of their right to receive the minimum wage. The Maine Department of Labor has released the 2019 Maine Minimum Wage notice with plenty of time to spare for employers to comply by the new year.
What do employers need to know about the 2019 Maine minimum wage?
In 2016, Maine voters approved a ballot initiative to increase the minimum wage by a specified amount every January 1 until it reaches $12.00 in 2020. (After 2021, the minimum wage will increase according to a rise in the cost of living.) In 2019, the general minimum wage rate will rise to $11.00 per hour.
In accordance with this increase, the Maine Department of Labor has updated the Maine Minimum Wage Notice with information effective as of January 1, 2019. This mandatory workplace notice provides information on state wage and hour laws, including the general minimum wage rate, the direct wage for tipped service employees, requirements for overtime and overtime exemption, and recordkeeping.
Although the minimum wage for most employees in the state will rise to $11.00 per hour on January 1, Maine allows employers of service employees who regularly receive tips to pay a lower direct cash wage and use a “tip credit” to make up the rest of the minimum wage. Originally, the cash wage for service employees was scheduled to increase each year until it reached the level of the general minimum wage, but Maine legislators reversed this in 2017. Instead, the direct cash wage for service employees will always be 50% of the general minimum wage. Effective January 1, 2019, the direct cash wage for service employees will rise to $5.50 per hour.
Maine is also one of the few states which sets a state-level salary threshold for exemption from overtime requirements. Effective January 1, 2019, this salary threshold will increase to $634.62 per week. To be considered exempt from overtime requirements, an employee must meet or exceed the salary threshold and also pass a duties test.
The Maine Minimum Wage notice has also been updated with a new email address for the Maine Department of Labor. The new revision date is 11/18.
Get the 2019 Maine minimum wage notice now!
If you already own one of Compliance Poster Company’s signature products, you can update your mandatory Maine Minimum Wage notice with the 2019 Maine Minimum Wage Notice Peel ‘N Post™ sticker for only $9.95.
The cost-effective alternative to poster subscription services, Peel ‘N Post update stickers are quick and easy to use – simply peel off the backing and post the sticker over the outdated notice on your All-On-One Poster or Mobile Poster Pak.
If you’re looking for a complete compliance solution, order a fully up-to-date 2019 Maine All-On-One™ Labor Law Poster, consolidating all state and federal required postings onto one convenient and attractive wall poster, or an Maine Mobile Poster Pak™ booklet for mobile and off-site workers or your HR reference desk. Arkansas products are available in English.
KEEP IN TOUCH WITH CPC!
To keep up with the latest in labor law news and posting compliance, follow us on Facebook, LinkedIn, or Twitter or subscribe to this blog! You can also contact us by phone, email, or chat to order one of CPC’s signature labor law compliance products or learn more about your company’s individualized posting obligations.
Please keep in mind that CPC cannot provide legal advice. If you have a question about how labor law applies to your specific workplace situation, please consult your local labor department or an employment lawyer.