July 2016

Employers covered by the Georgia Workers’ Compensation Law must now post the revised Workers’ Compensation Bill of Rights summary. Released by the State Board of Workers’ Compensation, the summary includes new compensation benefit amounts increased by enacted H.B 818. Starting July 1, 2016, an employer must pay a weekly benefit equal to two-thirds of the Read more

Last May, OSHA issued a final rule amending its Recording and Reporting Occupational Injuries and Illnesses regulation (29 CFR 1904). The final rule requires certain employers to electronically report injury and illness data to OSHA and to inform employees of their right to report work-related injuries and illnesses free from retaliation. The anti-retaliation provisions of the Read more

In just a few days, Minnesotans earning minimum wage will see an increase in their pay.  Employers covered by the Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act will have to pay their minimum wage rate employees new rates starting August 1, 2016. Employers with an annual gross volume of sales made or business done of $500,000 must Read more

Virginia has made two important posting changes that require employers to post the revised Virginia All-On-One Labor Law Poster. The changes affect the Virginia Occupational Safety & Health (VOSH) posting and the State-mandated federal Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) posting. VOSH Virginia has adopted work-related injury and illness reporting regulations that mirror federal Occupational Safety Read more

Starting January 1, 2017, Connecticut employers will be prohibited from asking about an applicant’s prior arrests, criminal charges or convictions on an initial employment application. An employer is defined as “any person engaged in business who has one or more employees, including the state or any political subdivision of the state.” Under the enacted H.B. Read more

Pregnant employees in West Virginia may find it easier to perform their jobs. West Virginia has enacted the Pregnant Workers’ Fairness Act (PWFA) prohibiting discrimination in employment based on pregnancy, childbirth or related medical conditions. The law also requires employers to make reasonable accommodations for limitations related to pregnancy and childbirth. Although not defined in Read more

Employers in the City of Los Angeles had more than a year to prepare for the City’s minimum wage hike that went into effect at the beginning of this month, but relatively little time to prepare for the mandatory paid sick leave benefits that also began to accrue to their employees since the beginning of Read more

During Utah’s 2016 legislative session, a bill modifying the Workers’ Compensation Act to address volunteers was passed. The enacted bill (S. 76), which became effective May 10th, provides that volunteers are not employees for purposes of workers’ compensation, unless the nongovernment entity chooses to cover the volunteer with workers’ compensation coverage. A volunteer is defined Read more

Add one more city to the country’s new era of the mandatory paid sick leave ordinance. Recently, the Chicago City Council passed the Paid Sick Leave Ordinance, effective next year on July 1, 2017. Covered employees, which are employees who work at least 80 hours for an employer within any 120-day period, can accrue hours Read more