Beginning August 10, 2016, Colorado joins a growing list of states that protect employees and applicants for employment with conditions related to pregnancy, childbirth and related health conditions. Specifically, Colorado’s new pregnancy anti-discrimination law requires employers to provide reasonable accommodations to pregnant applicants, employees and new moms, if requested. Under the law, employers are prohibited from: Read more

Colorado has enacted a new Pregnancy Accommodation Law prohibiting discrimination in employment based on pregnancy, childbirth, and related health conditions. The law also requires employers to provide reasonable accommodations to job applicants and employees affected by pregnancy-related conditions. An employer is not required to provide accommodations that would impose an undue hardship on the employer’s Read more

Each year, Colorado’s Constitution requires the state to adjust the minimum wage rate for inflation measured by the Consumer Price Index. This year, Colorado increased the statewide minimum wage rate from $8.00 to $8.23 per hour. The minimum wage rate for tipped employees increased from $4.98 per hour to $5.21 per hour. Both rates are Read more

Colorado law now requires restaurants, bars and other establishments licensed to sell alcohol beverages to post a new warning sign. Colorado Liquor Code was recently amended to protect “on-premise” liquor licensees from being cited for allowing removal of alcohol beverages from their establishments if they post specified signs at each exit used by the public. Read more