On January 1, 2014 Delaware’s governor signed legislation raising the state’s minimum wage.
- Effective June 1, 2014 the rate increases to $7.75 per hour
- Effective June 1, 2015 the rate increases again to $8.25 per hour
An additional change which was effective last year has been implemented. Back in 2013, the “Gender Identity Nondiscrimination Act of 2013” was signed into law and was effective upon passage. According to the law, gender identity was added as a protected class pertaining to hate crimes and discrimination in employment, public works contracting, housing, equal accommodations and the insurance business.
Both updates, the minimum wage increase and the added protected class, have been incorporated on the Delaware All-On-One™ labor law poster. It has a new date of 5/2014 and will be shipping shortly. To order your updated Delaware All-On-One™ poster click here.
Compliance Poster Company’s HR Research and Compliance Team tracks state and federal legislation to keep your business in compliance.