Minimum Wage Increase
Vermont has released two important posting requirements for Vermont employers. The first is the State’s Minimum Wage Notice which implements the minimum wage increases passed by the legislature and signed into law last June.
The new law establishes incremental increases in the minimum wage rate beginning January 1, 2015 and continuing through 2018. The minimum wage rate on January 1, 2015 is $8.73 per hour. The rate will increase every year and will eventually reach $10.50 per hour on January 1, 2018. Beginning January 1, 2019, and each year thereafter, the minimum wage rate will be adjusted for inflation, measured by the Consumer Price Index (CPI).
The maximum tip credit an employer can claim against the required minimum wage rate will also increase each year. Starting on January 1, 2015 the permissible tip credit raises to $4.58 per hour. By 2018, the tip credit increases to $5.25 an hour.
New Required Posting Location of Safety Records
The other significant change to Vermont’s posting obligations is the requirement that employers post a notice informing employees where they can review the employer’s workplace safety records. The new Posting of Safety Records notice is required to be posted in the approved format, which requires employers to fill in the location of the records and the employer’s contact person.
Compliance is easy. Both notices are included on Compliance Poster Company’s updated Vermont All-On-One Labor Law Poster™.