The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development has updated the Minimum Wage posting with the new 2019 minimum wage rate. New Jersey employers covered by any provision of the Wage and Hour Law are required to display the New Jersey Minimum Wage posting and any applicable wage orders in conspicuous locations at the workplace (New Jersey Statutes Annotated, 34:11-56a21). Employers must update their 2018 Minimum Wage posting with the new 2019 Minimum Wage posting to stay compliant.
Every year, New Jersey is required to adjust its minimum wage rate based on the increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI). CPI is a measure of the average change in prices of goods and services purchased by households over time. Over the 12-month period of August 2017 and August 2018, there was a 2.88 percent increase in the CPI, resulting in a $.25 increase. Effective January 1, 2019, the minimum wage rate will increase from $8.60 per hour to $8.85 per hour. The wage orders for the first processing product, seasonal amusement, hotel and motel, and food service occupations have also been revised to reflect the increase in the minimum wage to $8.85 per hour. Employers covered in any of these industries must update their industry-specific wage order.
Employers with a New Jersey All-On-OneTM Labor Law Poster can update their mandatory Minimum Wage posting with the 2019 New Jersey Minimum Wage Peel ‘N PostTM sticker for only $9.95. If not, employers may order the updated 2019 New Jersey All-On-OneTM Labor Law Poster.