Posting Requirements

LA EIC 2020

Just in time for the 2020 tax season, the Louisiana Workforce Commission (LWC) has released both the 2019 Earned Income Credit (EIC) Notice and the 2020 EIC Notice that Louisiana employers are required to post in the workplace each year to advise their employees that they may be eligible for the federal Earned Income Tax Read more

2020 Washington All-On-One Poster

Whether it’s to welcome a new child or cope with a serious health condition, this year employees in Washington State can start exercising their right to take paid time off available through the state’s Paid Family and Medical Leave (PFML) program. PFML is a mandatory statewide insurance program that provides wage replacement benefits to an Read more

Florida Labor Law Poster

The new year is rapidly approaching, and with it new posting requirements. For the state of Florida, employers must ensure that they pay employees a minimum wage of $8.56 per hour and post the 2020 Florida Minimum Wage Poster by January 1 to ensure that workers are informed of their rights under state law. Additionally, Read more

Nursing Home Facilities

On July 1, 2019, Connecticut Governor Lamont signed Public Act No. 19-89 into law. The law, which goes into effect October 1, 2019, requires nursing home facilities in the state of Connecticut to post daily information and reinstate employees or residents after retaliation. Nursing home facilities must post at the beginning of each shift the Read more

The Washington Employment Security Department (ESD) has just released two workplace notices that must be posted by all Washington employers – the new Washington Domestic Violence Resources notice and the revised Unemployment Benefits notice.  The notices are aimed at making sure that individuals are aware of the resources available to them in the event they Read more

Paid Leave

On July 1, 2019, the District of Columbia (DC) started collecting taxes from all private sector employers to fund the Universal Paid Leave Amendment Act of 2016. Every quarter, covered employers must file a wage report and pay 0.62 percent on that quarter’s wages or income. Covered employers include all DC employers subject to DC Read more

Paid Family and Medical Leave

On June 28, 2018, the Massachusetts Legislature passed House Bill 4640, which will gradually raise the minimum wage, and will provide paid family and medical leave (PFML) to employees. Most employees will be eligible to get up to 12 weeks of paid family leave and up to 20 weeks of paid medical leave. The program Read more

Paid Medical Leave

On September 5, 2018, the Michigan Legislature approved a proposed ballot measure that requires certain employers to provide employees with paid medical leave. By approving the initiative instead of allowing voters to approve it during the November 2018 election, the state legislature was able to amend the law with only a majority vote and provide Read more