Labor Law Notices

2021 Vermont Minimum Wage Posting Released

The Vermont Department of Labor has updated the state-mandated Minimum Wage posting to reflect the minimum wage rate increase going into effect on January 1, 2021. The law requires every employer to prominently post the Minimum Wage posting in the workplace so that employees may refer to it. (VT Admin. Code §24-090-003). Compliance Poster Company Read more

Maine Labor Law Poster

Minimum Wage Posting The Maine Department of Labor (MDOL) has updated the mandatory Minimum Wage workplace posting. Effective January 1, 2021, the minimum wage rate will increase from $12.00 to $12.15 per hour. This increase is pursuant to annual adjustments to the minimum wage by the cost of living index (CPI-W) beginning in 2021. (MRS Read more

2021 Montana Minimum Wage

The Montana Department of Labor and Industry has updated the Minimum Wage posting with the new 2021 minimum wage rate. The rate applies to most employees in Montana, with limited exceptions including tipped employees. A business not covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act whose gross annual sales are $110,000 or less may pay $4.00 Read more

Notice to Wisconsin Employees About Applying for Unemployment Benefits

Starting November 2, 2020, all employers covered by Wisconsin’s Unemployment Insurance Law must notify employees at the time of all separations about the availability of unemployment insurance. The new requirement is pursuant to an emergency rule passed last month by the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development and approved by Governor Parson. As a result of Read more

2021 New York Minimum Wage Peel 'N Post

On December 31, 2019, New York Governor Andrew M. Cuomo announced the end of subminimum wage for miscellaneous industries. In 2018, the governor directed the New York State Labor Commissioner to examine the impact of minimum wage tip credits across different industries. The New York State Department of Labor held hearings and received comments from Read more

New Jersey Labor Law Poster

The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development has released a new mandatory workplace notice for employers. Earlier this year, Governor Phil Murphy signed Assembly Bill 5843, requiring employers to post a notice regarding employee misclassification. The notice must contain the following information: An explanation of the prohibition for employer to misclassify its employees; Read more

Philadelphia Wage Theft Law Poster

Pittsburgh In 2015, the City of Pittsburgh passed the Paid Sick Days Act requiring employers to provide sick time to employees. However, the authority to pass the ordinance was challenged in court, delaying implementation. It was not until July 2019 that Pennsylvania Supreme Court upheld the city’s authority to pass the ordinance. Effective March 15, Read more

Michigan Labor Law Poster

During the 2019 legislative session, Governor Whitmer signed Executive Order 3 to re-organize the state government for a more efficient administration. The Order created the Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity, and renamed the Department of Talent and Economic Development to Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity. The Order also abolished the Michigan Talent Investment Read more

2020 Connecticut Sexual Harassment Peel 'N Post

During the 2019 legislative session, Connecticut Governor Lamont signed several acts affecting different labor laws in the state. Two of these acts (19-16 and 19-93) amend the Connecticut Human Rights Law, requiring employers with three or more employees to provide two hours of training and education concerning sexual harassment and remedies available to victims of Read more

Maine Labor Law Poster

With days from the New Year, the Maine Department of Labor has revised several mandatory workplace notices, including the Minimum Wage notice. Employers in the state of Maine should review their workplace notices to be compliant for 2020. Maine is one of 21 states that will be increasing the minimum wage rate on January 1, Read more