Minimum Wage Rate

On July 1, 2016, Pasadena will be one of several Southern California cities to implement a minimum wage requirement. Pasadena’s new Minimum Wage Ordinance requires employers to pay employees no less than the minimum wage described in Municipal Code 5.02.015 for each hour worked within the geographic boundaries of the City. The Ordinance is effective Read more

The “Fight for 15” movement, which aims at raising the minimum wage rate to $15.00 per hour for low wage workers, continues to gain momentum across the country. This month, the District of Columbia joined the conversation with the introduction of new legislation that would increase the minimum wage in the District to $15.00 per Read more

Birmingham, Alabama will soon be the first city in Alabama to implement a minimum wage rate. Last August the Birmingham City Council passed an Ordinance establishing a minimum wage rate of $8.50 per hour starting in 2016 and increasing to $10.10 per hour in 2017. After that, minimum wage increases will be tied to changes Read more

Tipped Employee Minimum Wage Two amendments to the Montgomery County, MD County Code went into this summer changing employers’ payment of wages responsibilities. The mandatory Minimum Wage workplace notice to employees has just been revised to reflect these changes. First, Bill 24-15 establishes $4.00 per hour as the minimum amount an employer must pay a Read more

Starting April 1, 2015, the minimum wage rate in Nova Scotia will increase to $10.60 per hour. The minimum wage rate for inexperienced workers will increase to $10.10 per hour. The increase is based on a two percent increase in the national Consumer Price Index (CPI) for 2014. There are a growing number of provinces Read more

Kentuckians earning minimum wage may see an increase in their pay starting this July, if Bill H2 is passed. The current minimum wage rate is $7.25 per hour and may increase to $8.20 per hour beginning July 1st, if bill is approved. The bill would also increase the rate to $9.15 per hour on July Read more

Last Spring, wage legislation was passed in West Virginia amending the state’s Minimum Wage law to provide for increases minimum wage rate beginning January 1, 2015. The state’s mandatory Minimum Wage posting has been revised to reflect the minimum wage rate increases in two stages: Beginning January 1, 2015, the minimum wage rate will increase Read more

The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment has announced its annual proposed state minimum wage rate for 2015. Colorado Minimum Wage Order Number 31 establishes a minimum wage rate of $8.23 per hour, and $5.21 per hour for employees who regularly receive tips, effective January 1, 2015.  The Colorado Constitution requires the state to adjust Read more

What do Ontario and Prince Edward Island have in common you ask? Minimum wage rates bump up in both provinces beginning June 1, 2014. In Ontario Canada the minimum wage rate applies to most employees. Check out the handy chart below to determine what rate you should be paying your employees. Minimum Wage Rates Current Read more