With days from the New Year, the Maine Department of Labor has revised several mandatory workplace notices, including the Minimum Wage notice. Employers in the state of Maine should review their workplace notices to be compliant for 2020.
Maine is one of 21 states that will be increasing the minimum wage rate on January 1, 2020. Maine’s minimum wage will rise from $11.00 to $12.00 per hour. Tipped employees must be paid a direct wage of at least $6.00 per hour. If this rate plus tips for the week does not average the minimum wage, the employer must pay the difference. Executive, administrative or professional employees are exempt from minimum wage and overtime if they are paid on a salary basis. The salary amount must be at least $692.31 per week.
On January 1, 2021 and each January 1st thereafter, Maine will be required to adjust its minimum wage rate based on the increase in the Consumer Price Index (CPI). The increase in the cost of living must be measured by the percentage increase, if any, as of August of the previous year over the level as of August of the year preceding that year in the CPI, with the amount of the minimum wage increase rounded to the nearest multiple of five cents.
The revised Maine Minimum Wage notice provides the new wage rate and effective date for both tipped and non-tipped employees, as well as information on overtime, exemptions from overtime, mandatory pay statements, and employer recordkeeping. Every employer is required to display the Minimum Wage notice in the workplace where workers can easily see it. (Title 26 M.R.S.A. §42-B)
The Maine Department of Labor has also revised the following labor law notices:
- Video Display Terminals (Title 26 M.R.S.A. §42-B)
- Whistleblower’s Protection Act (Title 26 M.R.S.A. §839)
- Maine Employment Security Law (Maine Rule §12-172(2))
- Occupational Safety and Health Regulations for Public Sector Workplaces
- Maine Supports Nursing Moms
- Regulation of Employment (Title 26 M.R.S.A. §42-B)
- Child Labor Laws (Title 26 M.R.S.A. §42-B)
The notices above-referenced include a new equal employment opportunity statement and a new notice date (11/19).
If you pre-ordered the 2020 Maine Minimum Wage Peel ‘N PostTM, you need to update to a full Maine All-On-OneTM Labor Law Poster to complete posting compliance. Please contact us at 800-817-7678 to adjust your order.