Arizona Minimum Wage Notice
Arizona’s minimum wage is set to increase to $12.00 per hour on January 1, 2020. The Industrial Commission of Arizona has updated the required Minimum Wage workplace notice with the new 2020 minimum wage rate.
Pursuant to Proposition 206, also known as the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act, employers must pay each employee wages not less than the applicable minimum wage for each hour worked. Employers are permitted to pay employees receiving tips up to $3.00 per hour less than the minimum wage, provided that the employees earn at least minimum wage for all hours worked each week. In addition to paying minimum wage, employers are required to keep accurate records of employee wages and hours for four years.
All employers operating in the state of Arizona, except employers that have less than $500,000 in gross annual revenue, must display the Arizona Minimum Wage Notice. An employer who violates the Act’s recordkeeping and posting requirements is subject to a civil penalty of at least $250 for the first violation and at least $1,000 for each subsequent or willful violation. (Arizona Revised Statutes, Sec. 23-364(F)) Employers with employees who work in the City of Flagstaff have additional minimum wage requirements.
Arizona Unemployment Insurance Notice
The Arizona Department of Economic Security has updated the also required Unemployment Insurance notice. The notice, which provides information about the Unemployment Insurance program, has been redesigned. Highlight of changes:
- New top and bottom banner. Top banner now reads: “Department of Economic Security – Your Partner For A Stronger Arizona.”
- The referenced pamphlet “A Guide to Arizona Unemployment Insurance Benefits (PAU-007)” has been renamed “A Guide to Arizona Benefits.”
- The Unemployment Insurance Tax Office phone number has been added.
- Details regarding Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, the Americans with Disabilities Act and other nondiscrimination laws have been removed.
CPC has incorporated both updated notices to our Arizona All-On-One Labor Law Poster. Order your copy to stay compliant.
Flagstaff Minimum Wage Poster
Employers with one or more employees who work 25+ hours in the City of Flagstaff are required to pay a higher minimum wage, and post the 2020 Flagstaff Minimum Wage poster in addition to the state and federal minimum wage posters. Effective January 1, 2020, the minimum wage for Flagstaff will increase to $13.00 per hour worked within the city.
The poster provides the new minimum wage rate and the time period during which it will be in effect, as well as information about who is covered, employee rights, and retaliation and contact information for the Flagstaff Office of Labor Standards. The updated poster also has a new green and orange color scheme. The poster must be displayed in a conspicuous place at any workplace or job site where a covered employee works. It must be posted in both English and Spanish, and in any language spoken by more than 5% of the employer’s workforce within the city. Employers are also required to provide new hires with a minimum wage handout (in English and Spanish) and an employee signature form which must be signed by the employee.
CPC has updated the Flagstaff, AZ Minimum Wage Poster. Order yours today!