Wage Law

Tipped Workers

On June 19, 2018, Washington, D.C. voters approved Initiative 77. The initiative was designed to provide a universal minimum wage for both tipped and non-tipped workers. The initiative will: gradually increase the minimum wage to $15 per hour by 2020; gradually increase the minimum wage for tipped employees so that they receive the same minimum Read more

Kentucky Labor Law Posters

Kentucky’s Division of Wages and Hours has recently updated the mandatory Child Labor Laws and Wage Discrimination postings. Both postings must be displayed in a conspicuous location or area where notices to employees are customarily displayed. Employers covered by Chapter 339 of the Kentucky Revised Statutes must display the Child Labor Laws posting. Employers covered Read more

Workers with Disabilities

Alaska is the latest state to eliminate subminimum wage for workers with disabilities. Under the Fair Labor Standards Act, employers are allowed to pay wages less than the Federal minimum wage to workers who have disabilities for the work being performed. New Hampshire and Maryland were the first states in the country to eliminate this Read more

Last month the Third U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals ruled that the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), which entitles non-exempt employees to overtime pay for hours worked in excess of 40, does not allow employers to offset unpaid overtime with paid meal breaks. The plaintiffs in the case of Smiley v. E.L. DuPont de Nemours Read more

This Election Day (November 8th), South Dakota voters will decide ballot measure to establish a youth minimum wage. If the proposed law gets passed, an employer with employees under 18 years old will be required to pay them at least $7.50 per hour. The youth minimum wage will not be subject to the annual minimum Read more

Washington Unemployment Benefits Washington State requires employers responsible for unemployment insurance coverage of their employees to post the mandatory Unemployment Benefits poster. The notice has several important changes that affect applicant eligibility and application procedures. This includes: Applicants must be able to provide employer history for the last 18 months Applicants that were in the Read more

In California, how piece-rate workers should be compensated during mandated rest and recovery periods and other work time that does not generate piece-rate earnings has been the subject of controversy and legal battles. A new California law (AB 1513) goes into effect January 1, 2016, that is intended to clarify and settle the pay requirements for mandated rest Read more

In recent years, increasing the minimum wage rate at the local level has gained momentum. Already, several California Bay Area cities have established minimum wage rates that exceed California’s 2016 $10.00 per hour state minimum wage rate. Support for the higher minimum wage rates is indicative of the higher cost of living in these communities. Read more

Beginning January 1, 2016, Oregon employees will have new protections and their employers will have new legal responsibilities. Following a busy legislative year, the following are some of the new laws taking effect this January that affect Oregon workplaces: Statewide Mandatory Paid Sick Leave – Effective January 1, 2016, Oregon employers with 10 or more Read more

On November 19th, Lexington became the second Kentucky city to approve a minimum wage ordinance. Louisville was the first city to pass a local minimum wage law when employers were required to pay $7.75 per hour to their minimum wage employees starting July 1st. During a city council meeting, Lexington’s Urban County Council voted 9-6 Read more