The new year is rapidly approaching, and with it new posting requirements. For the state of Florida, employers must ensure that they pay employees a minimum wage of $8.56 per hour and post the 2020 Florida Minimum Wage Poster by January 1 to ensure that workers are informed of their rights under state law. Additionally, employers must update the Florida Unemployment Insurance Poster with revised information on unemployment insurance eligibility.
2020 Florida Minimum Wage Poster Updates
Florida law requires the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity to calculate a minimum wage rate each year. Effective January 1, 2020, the minimum wage will increase to $8.65 per hour for non-tipped employees in the state of Florida. The minimum wage for tipped employees will be $5.54 per hour for tipped employees. The annual calculation is based on the percentage increase in the federal Consumer Price Index for the 12-month period prior to September 1, 2019. The minimum wage applies to all employees in the state who are covered by the federal minimum wage.
Each employer who must pay an employee the Florida minimum wage shall prominently display the 2020 Florida Minimum Wage Poster in a conspicuous and accessible place in each establishment where such employees are employed. (Florida Statutes, Section 448.110) The 2019 poster should remain posted until December 31, 2019 and be replaced by the 2020 Florida Minimum Wage Poster on January 1.
2019 Florida Unemployment Insurance Poster Updates
The Florida Unemployment Insurance Poster has also been updated. The poster includes the following changes:
- The Department of Economic Opportunity, Reemployment Assistance Program address has been removed.
- A new qualifying requirement has been added. Employees are now required to apply for unemployment benefits at https://connect.myflorida.com.
- Text has been revised to clarify that discharges related to misconduct may result in disqualification with a penalty period and a set amount of wages have been earned with new employment.
- Text has been revised to clarify that voluntarily quitting a job may result in disqualification until a set amount of wages have been earned with new employment.
- The revision date has been changed to 07/19.
All employers must post and maintain the Florida Unemployment Insurance Poster in places readily accessible to employees. (Florida Statutes, Section 443.151(1))
CPC’s Florida All-On-One Labor Law Poster has been updated with the revised minimum wage and unemployment poster changes. Employers can order posters here, or by calling our Compliance Advisors at 1-888-339-1257.