Kansas Smoking is Prohibited by State Law Signage
The Kansas Smoking is Prohibited by State Law sign must be posted by the proprietor or other person in charge of the premises of a public place or other area where smoking is prohibited. (KSA 21-4011). Smoking is prohibited in most of the following indoor locations in Kansas*:
- Public places
- Places of employment
- Taxicabs and limousines
- Lobbies, hallways and other common areas in apartment buildings and other multiple-residential facilities
- Restrooms, lobbies and other common areas in hotels and motels
- Within 10 feet of any doorway, open window or air intake where smoking is prohibited
*Local city or county smoking laws may be stricter than the state law.
Each employer having a place of employment that is an enclosed area shall provide a smoke-free workplace for all employees. Such employer shall also adopt and maintain a written smoking policy which shall prohibit smoking without exception in all areas of the place of employment. Such policy shall be communicated to all current employees within one week of its adoption and shall be communicated to all new employees upon hiring. Each employer shall provide a written copy of the smoking policy upon request to any current or prospective employee. [KSA 21-4010(b)].
Any person who violates the signage requirement shall be guilty of a cigarette or tobacco infraction punishable by a fine:
(1) Not exceeding $100 for the first violation;
(2) not exceeding $200 for a second violation within a one year period after the first violation; or
(3) not exceeding $500 for a third or subsequent violation within a one year period after the first violation.