Minimum Wage and Overtime Law Poster Description
The Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation (DLLR) requires employers operating in Montgomery County to post the current Montgomery County Minimum Wage and Overtime Law Poster to inform employees of their rights. The Montgomery County Minimum Wage and Overtime Poster identifies the effective minimum wage rate, the tipped employee minimum wage rate, minimum wage requirements for amusement and recreational establishments, and the minimum wage that must be paid to employees under 20 years of age. The posting also explains overtime calculation and exceptions to overtime pay requirements. In addition, there are a number of occupations exempt from the County’s minimum wage and overtime pay requirements. The posting provides contact information for the DLLR that employees may use to obtain more information about the County’s Minimum Wage and Overtime Law or to file a complaint. The Montgomery County minimum wage rate applies to work performed within the geographic boundaries of the County.
- Any employer operating or doing business in the County must post the Montgomery County Minimum Wage Poster in the workplace.
- Pay records must be kept for 3 years on or about the place of work.
- An employer who employs a tipped employee in the County must submit a quarterly wage report within 30 days after the end of each quarter certifying that each tipped employee was paid the minimum wage required by the County Minimum Wage and Overtime Law.
Montgomery County Minimum Wage and Overtime Law Poster is available in English and Spanish.
Enforcement of the Minimum Wage and Overtime Law
- Employers must not obstruct or prevent enforcement or compliance with the Montgomery County Minimum Wage and Overtime Law, or retaliate against any person for lawfully opposing any violation of the Ordinance.
- Violation of the law may be investigated and enforced by the Montgomery County Office of Human Rights and/or the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation.